Resource detail

What are the biosafety levels (BSL) in a lab

In this presentation we will explain what the different biosafety levels (BSL) are in a lab. We will explain in depth what the different safety measures are in these biosafety levels. In short there are four different BSL levels:

BSL-1 Low risk organisms that pose little to no threat of infection. (e.g. E Coli, cell lines)

BSL-2 Human diseases that pose a moderate health hazard (e.g. Hepatitis B, primary cells.

BSL-3 Microbes that can cause serious or potentially lethal disease through inhalation. (e.g. COVID-19)

BSL-4 Highly dangerous, fatal, and exotic microbes (e.g. Ebola)

Sign up now

Want to stay up to date? Sign up for our newsletter

No, thanks